Home » Christianity » So simply put

So simply put

I read this one on a blog written by Mike Servello Jr. and posted with his permission.  So simply put and so true. Thank You, Mike

Generational Curses: part 1, My thoughts

March 17, 2008 at 4:47 am (Theology, church, personal) (, , )

Warning: Extra Long Post!

Since we’re being controversial, Lets just put it all on the table. Right now our church is doing a series on the power of words. When you do a series like this all you have to do is mention the title and you have already crossed the bridge to the land of being relevant. Going over what the Bible says about the power our words and applying them to my own life is very convicting. I need a lot of Help…I’m not even joking. We joke about it, but biblically speaking its not a joke. The Bible tells us our religion is measured by the use of our tongues (James 1:26). Anyways, this was my weekend to speak and after much study and reflection here was my conclusion in one statement as to what the Bible says about the power of words: Don’t underestiamte the power of our words. Simple. to the point. One of the points I made had to do with not underestimating the words we speak about ourselves. I talked about the power of confessing positive things over our lives instead of negative and tried to approach it in the most balanced way possible. As I was talking I used the example of people who believe in Generational curses. To be honest, after the service I wondered if i should have used that as the example of what I was trying to illustrate. I think it may have been a little too controversial for some. The point I was trying to make is if you believe you are cursed, it can very easily turn into a self fulfilling prophecy. One thing I have observed over the years is fear is simply faith in the wrong direction. IF you fear something including a family curse you actually give the devil power by unknowingly putting faith in that curse. Sometimes people who get to thinking a lot about “demonic involvement” in their lives often without knowing begin to have more faith in the Devils power to curse them than God’s power to bless them. I have seen Christians who see tendencies in themselves that may be the same they see in their family and as a result believe it is a generational curse that needs to be broken. Let me say this, people ask me all the time, “can a Christian have a demon?” or for the sake of this conversation, “Can a christian have a generational curse?” My response, “a christian can have whatever he wants, but he devil cant be there by LEGAL right.” My problem with generational curses is both theological and practical. I’d thought i’d share what the Bible says about the subject because I find it amazing that a lot of Christians have never looked to see what the Bible says about the subject. Let’s look at the origin of it all:

Deut. 5:9 ’You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, and on the third and the fourth [generations] of those who hate Me,

My first observation says this: If we pray and rebuke generational curses are we rebuking God? Im not being sarcastic but asking a question seriously, because the Bible says God is the one putting the curse there. Also, the in this particular verse has an extra statement which is not included in the one in Numbers which is: “to those who hate me”. So if you love God is it possible to be experiencing financial problems, lust, mental illness, physical illness or any other struggle because of a generational curse specifically? Before I answer this question, lets look at just three other verses and tell me how they can fit with an understanding of generational curses.

Prov. 26:2 As the bird by wandering, as the swallow by flying, so the curse causeless shall not come.

Prov. 3:33 The curse of the LORD is on the house of the wicked, But He blesses the dwelling of the righteous.

Gal. 3:13 But Christ has rescued us from the curse pronounced by the law. When he was hung on the cross, he took upon himself the curse for our wrongdoing. For it is written in the Scriptures, “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.”

Remember also the story of Balaam in the Bible he was hired to curse the people of Israel but could not. It was not until the people of Israel sinned by committing immorality that any type of curse came in. Im interested in any thoughts and if people can explain to me from a clear biblical perspective the idea of generational curses as they specifically apply to Christians. But like said at the outset, my issue with the doctrine is not simply theological but also practical. I have talked with Christians who think their personal issues are a result of a “generational curse.” To me this in turn leads to an dangerous confession. We confess more the power of the enemy than we do the power of GOD. Dad might have had lust problems, Dad might have had money problems, Dad might have had health problems, but you know what I got a new Father who never gets sick, who had no financial problems and is perfectly pure. Isn’t this the work that Jesus did on the cross by taking the “curse” for us? He was rejected so we can be accepted, he was beaten so I don’t have to be. I think part of the issue with this whole subject is people want an answer for things in our lives that sometimes don’t make sense. When A happens we want to say it was because if B. Honestly, Life is a mystery. God is the only one who understands that mystery. I think of the story in the Bible where the disciple questioned him about a disabled man he was about to heal. The question, “who sinned? Him or his parents?” Jesus said, “Neither, but that God’s glory might be displayed. I read a quote by Philip Yancey once that said, “Life is not a problem to be solved but a mystery to be lived.” I couldn’t agree more. I think their are things that God allows in our lives simply so we can overcome them and bring him glory. However, the only way to overcome them is to believe God is for us and not against us and to take his hand and walk with him day by day through some of the deepest struggles we may face and simply trust him and what his word says no matter what circumstances say. I’d love to hear any thoughts anybody may have.

One thought on “So simply put

  1. I am soooooooo grateful for this expository on generational curses. Many many Christians are deceived & surrender their birthright without realizing what they are doing. For a brief season I fellowshipped with some brethren who warned of generational curses AND demonic possession in the lives of Christians! May it NEVER be! I believe Jesus has finished the work on the cross and by the empty tomb. I believe He delivered me from curses and from the reign of demons. I am grateful Mr. Page reminded me of these facts. Amen

Leave a Reply

